Conference profile

The International Semiconductor Conference CAS, an IEEE event since 1995, is targeting not only semiconductor electronics, but also micro-and nanotechnologies (including micro-nanosystems).
The plenary sessions are devoted to invited talks giving a broader perspective of the domain, whereas oral and poster sessions contain regular papers, selected by a board of reviewers. Sometimes, oral sessions are including invited papers. A special session is devoted to student papers.
The conference papers are published in Proceedings, available on-line on IEEE Xplore Digital Library.
The main scientific profile is related to:

  • Simulation and fabrication of microstructures and microsystems: surface and bulk micromachining, microengineering techniques, electro-opto-mechanical microsystems, integration of microsensors and microactuators, signal processing, computational intelligence and system interfacing, biosensors and microsystems for biomedical applications; optical, opto-electronic and photonic functional components, RF MEMS (Radio-Frequency Micro-Electro-Mechanical Systems);
  • Science and technology of nanostructures and nanostructured materials: composite nanoparticles and nanostructures with selective properties, nanostructures and nanostructured materials with special properties, nanotechnologies and nanostructures;
  • Semiconductor device physics and technology: device modelling and simulation, silicon and compound semiconductor devices, heterostructures, advanced materials and processes, reliability and defect engineering;
  • Design and technology of microelectronic components: microelectronic, microphotonic and microwave integrated subsystems, devices and modules for power control and conversion, specialized electronic circuits integrated in the microelectronic technology, testing and reliability.
  • Design and simulation of Integrated circuits: OP-Amps and instrumentation amplifiers, LP-LV voltage and current references, Nonliniear  and HV analog circuits, High performance digital circuits, Microprocessors and DSPs, Memories, Data and DC-DC converters, LED drivers, Sensors subsystems and interfaces,Lab on chip, Mixed signals circuits

topics details >


Organizing Committee

General Chairman:
Dr. Adrian Dinescu – IMT Bucharest, Romania

Technical Program Chair:
Dr. Mircea Dragoman – IMT Bucharest, Romania

Technical Program Co-chair:
Prof. Gheorghe Brezeanu – “Politehnica” Univ. of Bucharest, Romania

Conference Manager:
Claudia Roman – IMT Bucharest, Romania

Conference Secretariat:
Mihaela Ionita
– IMT Bucharest, Romania


Technical Program Committee

Chair: Mircea Dragoman – IMT Bucharest, Romania
Co-chair: Gheorghe Brezeanu – “Politehnica” Univ. of Bucharest, Romania

Magdalena Lidia Ciurea – National Inst. for R&D in Material Physics, Bucharest, Romania
Dana Cristea – IMT Bucharest, Romania
Adrian Dinescu – IMT Bucharest, Romania
Dragos Dobrescu - “Politehnica” Univ. of Bucharest, Romania
Alexandru Müller – IMT Bucharest, Romania
Raluca Müller – IMT Bucharest, Romania
Dan Neculoiu – IMT Bucharest, Romania


Honorary Advisory Committee

G.A.J. Amaratunga - Cambridge Univ., UK
C. Anghel – Inst. Superieur d'Electronique de Paris (ISEP), France
N. Barsan - Tuebingen Univ, Germany
S Bellucci – INFN Laboratory Nazionali di Frascati, Roma, Italy
C. Bulucea* - Texas Instruments, Santa Clara, CA, USA (retired)
S. Cristoloveanu - CNRS-INPG-UJF, Grenoble, France
D. Dascalu** - “Politehnica” Univ. of Bucharest, Romania
Daniela Dragomirescu – Univ. of Toulouse; LAAS-CNRS; France
H. Hartnagel - Techn. Univ. Darmstadt, Germany
A.M. Ionescu - EPF, Lausanne, Switzerland
G. Konstantinidis - FORTH Heraklion, Greece
R. Marcelli - CNM, Rome, Italy
S. Melinte - Univ. Catholique de Louvain, Belgium
A. Mocuta - IMEC, Belgium
K. Mutamba - Infineon Technologies, Germany
D. Planson -  Institut National des Sciences Appliquées de Lyon (INSA), France
A. Rusu - KTH Royal Inst. of Technology, Sweden
K. Szaciłowski - AGH Univ. of Science and Technology, Poland
F. Udrea - Cambridge Univ., UK
* CAS Founder Chairman
** CAS Chairman (1998-2016)


Papers Review Board (CAS 2017)

V. Anghel – ON Semiconductor, Bucharest, Romania 
V. Banu – IMB-CNM, Barcelona, Spain
G. Bartolucci – Univ. of Roma Tor Vergata, Italy
S. Bellucci – INFN Laboratory Nazionali di Frascati, Roma, Italy
Gh. Brezeanu - “Politehnica” Univ. of Bucharest, Romania
M. Brezeanu - PwC Romania 
O. Buiu – IMT Bucharest, Romania
M.L. Ciurea - National Inst. for R&D in Material Physics, Bucharest, Romania
D. Cristea – IMT Bucharest, Romania
V. Damian – National Inst. for Laser, Plasma and Radiation Physics, Romania 
D. Dobrescu - “Politehnica” Univ. of Bucharest, Romania
L. Dobrescu - “Politehnica” Univ. of Bucharest, Romania
F. Draghici - “Politehnica” Univ. of Bucharest, Romania
D. Dragoman – Univ. of Bucharest, Romania
M. Dragoman – IMT Bucharest, Romania
P. Gally – ST Microelectronics, France
L. Goras– „Gh. Asachi” Technical Univ. of Iasi, Romania
H. Hartnagel - Techn. Univ. Darmstadt, Germany
G. Konstantinidis – FORTH Heraklion, Crete, Greece
M. Lazar - INSA Lyon, France
R. Marcelli, - CNR-IMM, Rome, Italy
S. Melinte - Univ. Catholique de Louvain, Belgium
M. Mihaila - IMT Bucharest, Romania
M. Modreanu - Tyndall National Inst., Cork, Ireland
A. Müller – IMT Bucharest, Romania
R. Müller – IMT Bucharest, Romania 
M. Neag - Tehnical Univ. of Cluj-Napoca, Romania 
D. Neculoiu – IMT Bucharest, Romania
R. Pascu - IMT Bucharest, Romania
Gh. Pristavu - “Politehnica” Univ. of Bucharest, Romania
M. Purica - IMT Bucharest, Romania
B. Serban - IMT Bucharest , Romania
S. Simion -Technical Military Academy of Bucharest, Romania
I. Tigyneanu - Academy of Sciences and Technical Univ. of Moldova, Republic of Moldova
A. Tulbure - "1 Decembrie 1918" Univ. Alba Iulia, Romania
F. Udrea - Cambridge Univ., UK
T. Visan – Infineon Technologies Romania, Bucharest, Romania